CD, LP, digital


Formed at the end of 2015, the goal for HAL JOHNSON was immediately clear: to leave the sleepy nest called Greven near Münster as often as possible to play shows all over Europe, with songs between punk rock & pop that are guaranteed to stick in your sweaty head even hours after the gig.

On April 17, 2020, their 11-song debut album SEASONS will be released via Uncle M, followed by a two-week tour through Germany. The band addresses everyday fears and worries, chaotic conditions and dark times, but also hope and the fact that you are never alone with your problems. Recorded in renewed collaboration with Lukas Kroll as producer, the album was mixed by Bastian Hartmann (a.o. Adam Angst, Fjørt) and mastered by Hauke Albrecht (a.o. Turbostaat). The artwork is by Josua Rieber of Homesick – Merch (among others Donots, Itchy).

After the release of their debut EP “Broken Empire” in 2016 via No!Panic-Records, which the four friends recorded on their own, a split EP with Screw Houston was released two years later via the Dutch label White Russian Records, with the first single “This Is All I” also appearing as a music video.
With these songs between melancholy & euphoria in their luggage, the band has played over 150 shows across Europe to date, including four tours and various support shows such as for Mom Jeans (USA), Not On Tour (ISR) or Death By Stereo (USA).

A proof of how much HAL JOHNSON love to play their songs live, inspired by artists like The Menzingers, The Beatles or Weezer, and thus always get to know new people and places, in order to create a togetherness together against the confusions and conflicts of our time.